Traveling Measures by the Government of Cyprus

Larnaka & Pafos International Airports are open and operate on a 24/7 basis. However, as of 17 March 2020, all Food & Beverage outlets will be closed at both airports based on the latest regulations by the Republic of Cyprus. Passengers are requested to contact their airline directly for any changes in the airlines’ flight schedule.


Latest Measures

Based on the measures taken by the Government to confine the coronavirus pandemic and aiming to safeguard Public Health, flights from the following countries to the airports of Larnaka and Pafos will be banned as of 3a.m. 21 March 2020 for a period of 14 days (with the exception of cargo flights):

Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Egypt, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Jordan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom and Greece.


It is also added that flights to the Republic of Cyprus without passengers will be allowed for those wishing to leave the island.

  1. Up until 21stMarch 2020, 3 a.m local time entry to the republic of Cyprus is strictly allowed to individuals possessing a medical certificate issued within the last four days prior their travel date, indicating negative results to COVID-19. The abovementioned certificate must be issued by a state medical laboratory or an authorised laboratory by the state at the country of departure for individuals that fall into the following categories:

(a) Cypriot citizens
(b) Legal residents in the Republic of Cyprus
(c) European nationals or third-country nationals working in the Republic
(d) Nationals of countries who are in a designated diplomatic service or mission under bilateral or international conventions
(e) Individual cases of European nationals or third-country nationals for unavoidable professional obligations, provided that the relevant authorization has been obtained from the competent Ministry
(f) European or third country citizens attending educational institutions in the Republic of Cyprus

  1. The following groups are exempted from the medical certificate submission measure:

(a) People who travelled for health reasons
(b) People that are on short professional/business trips
(c) People that are under the terms of the Vienna convention

Note: People falling within the categories above may be accompanied by individuals they were accompanied by during their departure and during their treatment abroad.

Individuals falling within the categories above, instead of possessing a health certificate, they have to possess a certificate issued by the diplomatic missions of Cyprus, which is going to be issued if those individuals present to the diplomatic missions of Cyprus the necessary documentation proving the reasons mentioned in categories 2(a) and 2(b) (e.g. departure tickets from Cyprus or doctor’s notes from the medical facilities they were treated by).

  1. As of the 21stof March 2020, 3 a.m. and for a period of 14 days all flights are prohibited and if necessary, the Republic of Cyprus is going to charter special flights from Athens and London for those falling within the categories 2(a) and 2(b) above wishing to return to the Republic of Cyprus.
  2. Individuals falling within the categories above entering the Republic of Cyprus will still need to go to a 14-day compulsory isolation (quarantine) in places indicated by the government with the exception of people staying abroad for health reasons. The latter are going to remain in self-isolation in order to carry on with their treatment uninterruptedly.


Airlines must ensure strict adherence to the above measures before boarding.


Contact info:

In case of an emergency, Cypriot citizens may contact the following numbers:

  • Diplomatic Missions of the Republic of Cyprus abroad: Their contact details could be accessed at the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs under Cyprus Diplomatic Missions Abroad.
  • Consular Affairs Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs: +357 22651113 (08:30 – 15:00, Monday – Friday)
  • Duty Officer of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs: +357 99660129 (outside working hours*)
  • Crisis Management Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs: +357 22801000 (24/7)

* The Duty Officer’s line is reachable outside office hours and is intended to provide assistance in emergency situations. For non-urgent questions, please contact the relevant Department of the Ministry during normal office hours via the switchboard +357 22-651000.

***The current situation regarding COVID-19 in Cyprus is subject to change. All the above amendments can be altered at any time by the Government.